Passion Fruit Cheesecake

I really, really love cheesecake. Enough so that I will not buy or bake a whole cheesecake unless I have someone around to help me eat it. Otherwise I’m having cheesecake for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Ialso happen to love passion fruits. So it was only a matter of time until I went in search of the perfect passion fruit cheesecake. After a few tries, I have created a new favorite but, don’t take my word for it. Try the recipe below and tell me what you think…

DSCF0436-002

Crust

  • 1 1/4 C. graham cracker crumbs
  • 1/4 C. sugar
  • 1 tsp grated citrus peel, optional
  • 1/3 C. butter or margarine, melted

Preheat oven to 350° F.
Spray 9-inch baking pan, preferably  springform, with nonstick cooking spray.  In medium bowl, combine all crust ingredients and blend well. Press firmly onto bottom of cake pan. If you don’t have a Springform pan it will require a little more finesse to shake a picture worthy cheesecake from the pan.

Cheesecake crust

Filling

  • 2 pks (8 oz each) Cream Cheese, softened
  • ½ C. condensed milk
  • ½ C. Sugar
  • ½ C. passion fruit puree
  • 2 eggs
  • ¼ C. flour
  • 1 tsp vanilla

In large mixing bowl, beat cream cheese and condensed milk and sugar at low speed until just smooth, about 30 seconds. Scrape bowl. Add passion fruit, vanilla and eggs. Beat at low speed for 1 minute. Scrape bowl. Add flour and beat for an additional minute.

cake batter

DSCF0373

Pour filling into pan over crust. Bake 1 hour until firm except for the very center. Cool completely on wire rack. Cover; refrigerate at least 4 hours. DSCF0387

Toppings, optional

  • Sliced fresh strawberries
  • Fresh whipped cream

This cheesecake looks like a plain ol cheesecake but it has a robust flavor. I you plan to add a topping fresh fruit and unsweetened or light sweetened cream is best. 

DSCF0361-002

One thought on “Passion Fruit Cheesecake

  1. I’ll admit, I’ve never seen a passion fruit. Only passion flowers, and I don’t think it’s really the same at all. But now that I know it’s available all nicely packaged up, I’ll look for it in my grocery store 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

