Mango Habanero Sauce

A while ago I visited a local bar with friends and saw Mango Habanero Wings on the menu. Unable to sample them because the restaurant was out of mango habanero sauce; I went home determined to make my own.

This recipe is a cinch to make. It calls for 6 ingredients, 3 steps and about 1 hour of your time.  The result is sticky, spicy, sweet, garlic sauce that makes a perfect accompaniment for  baked or fried chicken wings or shrimp.
Serve Mango Habanero Wings alone or pair with savory side dishes like tostones or yuca fries
Toss shrimp with pasta or pair with coconut rice and a salad for a quick elegant meal.  Keep reading for the complete recipe.

1-DSCF7658

2 tablespoon chopped garlic, 2 cloves 
1 ½ teaspoon salt
16 ounces mango puree
½ cup sugar
½ habanero pepper

 

Cooking Directions
In a small saucepan combine all ingredients and cook over medium- high heat until liquid reduces by half, about 15 minutes. Stir occasionally (every 3-5 minutes) while cooking.

*Scotch bonnet and Habanero peppers can be used interchangeably though Scotch bonnet pepper tend to be hotter.

1-DSCF7671

 

Baked Mango- Habanero Chicken Wings
3 lb chicken wings
1tsp salt
1 tsp black pepper

Season wings with salt and black pepper. Arrange on a baking sheet and pour sauce over. Stir to coat wings. Place on the lower rack of a 350° degree oven and bake for 45 minutes. After 45 minutes turn wings. Use a large spoon to baste wings with sauce. Put on top rack of oven for 15 minutes.

1-mango habanero wing

Mango- Habanero Shrimp
3 lb Med Shrimp
1 tsp salt
½ tsp black pepper
1 stalk scallion, chopped

Toss shrimp with salt and black pepper. Grill shrimp about 90 seconds on each side. toss with warm sauce and fresh cooked pasta. top with chopped scallions.

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “Mango Habanero Sauce

  1. Admiring the time and effort you put into your
    website and detailed information you provide.
    It’s great to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the
    same out of date rehashed material. Wonderful read!
    I’ve bookmarked your site and I’m adding your RSS feeds to my
    Google account.

    Like

  2. Everything published made a great deal of sense. However, what about this? suppose you composed a catchier post title? I ain’t suggesting your information is not solid., but what if you added a title that grabbed a person’s attention? I mean Mango Habanero Wings | Sian’s Cooking is a little boring. You should look at Yahoo’s front page and watch how they write post titles to grab people to open the links. You might try adding a video or a related picture or two to get people interested about everything’ve got to say. Just my opinion, it could make your website a little livelier.

    Like

  3. Hmm it seems like your website ate my first comment (it was super long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I had written and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog. I as well am an aspiring blog blogger but I’m still new to everything. Do you have any tips for first-time blog writers? I’d certainly appreciate it.

    Like

    1. Thank you Annmarie. I do not have any particular methods or tips on writing a blog. What has worked for me is to play around with the different templates to see what I like best. As for the content, I try to ensure that my posts are detailed, concise and easily understood by any audience. I have also made many modifications (due to missing information or misspelling) to prior posts, based on questions from readers and feedback from family, friends and staff.

      Like

Leave a Reply

